Starting from October 13, files that are sent to Trash folder will be automatically deleted after 30 days
Google Drive is changing its Trash policies.
Starting from October 13, files that are sent to Trash folder will be automatically deleted after 30 days.
As of now, the files are stored indefinitely, unless the user manually and permanently deletes them from Trash.
Other Google products such as Gmail already delete trashed files after 30 days. This update is likely to change some consistency across all products of Google, reports The Verge.
In order to make this transition easier for everyone, Google Drive will display a banner containing details of the changes and will also show an in-app notification in Drive, Docs and Forms.
Admins will still be able to restore files deleted from a user's trash for up to 25 days, and the changes don't impact policies set by Google Vault admins, reports Engadget.